On my milling machine, the spindle can operate in Close loop mode with a quadrature signal control and feedback via a quadrature signal.
After reading the help, a few questions remained.
1. Do I need to declare the spindle as an axis in the initialization file? What are the differences from the declaration of the other axes?
2. Which files are from \C Programs\SpindleUsingJogs\... are they better suited as a basis for my spindle configuration?
3. The spindle control files are run via M3, M4 and M5, for example in thread 2.
Is it possible to use other user programs in the same thread? What will happen in this thread when executing M3, M4 or M5? What will happen in the thread after executing these M-codes?
4. Is it possible to control the spindle as an axis through G-codes? For example, turning an angle after completing the rotation? If possible, how?
The spindle as an axis
Moderators: TomKerekes, dynomotion
- TomKerekes
- Posts: 2677
- Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 1:49 am
Re: The spindle as an axis
Hi Alexander,
The first step would be to configure an Axis as an open loop Step/Dir Output mode in Quadrature output drive to see if you can Jog it at your required speeds and move it with your required accuracy and stiffness. Then verify the quadrature encoder feedback is working. Then change to Closed Loop Step/Dir Output mode.
Yes. That would depend on how your other axes are configured.Do I need to declare the spindle as an axis in the initialization file? What are the differences from the declaration of the other axes?
You might use the V2 files.Which files are from \C Programs\SpindleUsingJogs\... are they better suited as a basis for my spindle configuration?
The rule is that only one program can be executing in a Thread at a time. Once the program finishes the Thread can be used for a different Program. See here.The spindle control files are run via M3, M4 and M5, for example in thread 2.
Is it possible to use other user programs in the same thread? What will happen in this thread when executing M3, M4 or M5? What will happen in the thread after executing these M-codes?
Yes. You might create 2 MCodes. One that does not include the Spindle Axis into the Coordinated Motion System so it can operate as a normal Spindle. The other includes it in the Coordinated Motion System as the A Axis so it can be positioned as the A axis in GCode. How well it works will depend on your Spindle and Spindle Controller.Is it possible to control the spindle as an axis through G-codes? For example, turning an angle after completing the rotation? If possible, how?
The first step would be to configure an Axis as an open loop Step/Dir Output mode in Quadrature output drive to see if you can Jog it at your required speeds and move it with your required accuracy and stiffness. Then verify the quadrature encoder feedback is working. Then change to Closed Loop Step/Dir Output mode.
Regards,
Tom Kerekes
Dynomotion, Inc.
Tom Kerekes
Dynomotion, Inc.
-
- Posts: 39
- Joined: Wed May 03, 2023 12:54 am
Re: The spindle as an axis
I didn't understand how to implement it.You might create 2 MCodes. One that does not include the Spindle Axis into the Coordinated Motion System so it can operate as a normal Spindle. The other includes it in the Coordinated Motion System as the A Axis so it can be positioned as the A axis in GCode.
In the first case, I use the M code as from the examples \SpindleUsingJogs, right?
Can you give examples of the M code for activating coordinated movement? For example, I am interested in switching to positioning mode and removing the boring cutter after boring. And rigid threading.
- TomKerekes
- Posts: 2677
- Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 1:49 am
Re: The spindle as an axis
Hi Alexander,
yes. Those MCodes can be left configured they should just not be used when operating as an axis.In the first case, I use the M code as from the examples \SpindleUsingJogs, right?
You might use User MCodes M100 and M101 to do this. See this Thread.Can you give examples of the M code for activating coordinated movement?
I don't understand this.I am interested in switching to positioning mode and removing the boring cutter after boring.
Threading would be performed in normal Spindle Mode.And rigid threading.
Regards,
Tom Kerekes
Dynomotion, Inc.
Tom Kerekes
Dynomotion, Inc.