Rotary type automatic tool changer setup using Kflop+Kanalog+Konnect
Moderators: TomKerekes, dynomotion
-
- Posts: 134
- Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2018 7:35 am
- Location: India
Rotary type automatic tool changer setup using Kflop+Kanalog+Konnect
Hi tom,
I am using Kflop+Kanalog+Konnect board together to connect my Rotary type auto tool changer.
I can only find linear tool changer code in manual
https://www.dynomotion.com/wiki/index.p ... _C_Program
above link.
But in my case I am using Rotary type tool changer with a disk having 12 tools.
For movement of tool changer axis i am using 2 stepper motors in open loop connected to kflop JP4.
One stepper motor is for moving ATC arm horizontal movement.
2nd Stepper motor is for Rotating ATC disk (Which has tools mounted) to reach respective tool postions.
Please guide me for the above problem.
I have attached flow chart that is similar to our case.
and rotary tool changer is similar to the below link
https://www.aliexpress.com/i/32955275935.html
Waiting for your kind reply
I am using Kflop+Kanalog+Konnect board together to connect my Rotary type auto tool changer.
I can only find linear tool changer code in manual
https://www.dynomotion.com/wiki/index.p ... _C_Program
above link.
But in my case I am using Rotary type tool changer with a disk having 12 tools.
For movement of tool changer axis i am using 2 stepper motors in open loop connected to kflop JP4.
One stepper motor is for moving ATC arm horizontal movement.
2nd Stepper motor is for Rotating ATC disk (Which has tools mounted) to reach respective tool postions.
Please guide me for the above problem.
I have attached flow chart that is similar to our case.
and rotary tool changer is similar to the below link
https://www.aliexpress.com/i/32955275935.html
Waiting for your kind reply
Thank You
AMIT KUMAR
AMIT KUMAR
- TomKerekes
- Posts: 2677
- Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 1:49 am
Re: Rotary type automatic tool changer setup using Kflop+Kanalog+Konnect
Hi Amit,
A Linear Tool changer should be very similar to a Rotary Tool Changer except what is done to move to the Tool Positions. The Linear example moves XY to the necessary position. In your case you will rotate your carousel.
That is a poor example of a flowchart. I'd suggest making a well detailed flowchart for your system. Before writing any code I would perform each step manually using KMotion.exe Digital IO and Console Screens to Activate IO Bits, Check Status Bits, and Move things.
HTH
A Linear Tool changer should be very similar to a Rotary Tool Changer except what is done to move to the Tool Positions. The Linear example moves XY to the necessary position. In your case you will rotate your carousel.
That is a poor example of a flowchart. I'd suggest making a well detailed flowchart for your system. Before writing any code I would perform each step manually using KMotion.exe Digital IO and Console Screens to Activate IO Bits, Check Status Bits, and Move things.
HTH
Regards,
Tom Kerekes
Dynomotion, Inc.
Tom Kerekes
Dynomotion, Inc.
-
- Posts: 134
- Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2018 7:35 am
- Location: India
Re: Rotary type automatic tool changer setup using Kflop+Kanalog+Konnect
Hi tom,
Thanks for your reply.
I will try manual method first before writing a code.
but in code for linear tool changer Absolute position of tool holders , What will be the replacement for this, ?
I am using stepper motors with open loop, How to do define the tool holder locations in C program. ?
Waiting for your kind reply.
Thanks for your reply.
I will try manual method first before writing a code.
but in code for linear tool changer Absolute position of tool holders , What will be the replacement for this, ?
I am using stepper motors with open loop, How to do define the tool holder locations in C program. ?
Waiting for your kind reply.
Thank You
AMIT KUMAR
AMIT KUMAR
- TomKerekes
- Posts: 2677
- Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 1:49 am
Re: Rotary type automatic tool changer setup using Kflop+Kanalog+Konnect
Hi Amit,
You will need to understand how your tool changer works. There is likely to be some number of motor steps between tool positions. There will also need to be some type of sensor or sensors so you can tell when a tool is in position to be changed and which position it is. Its up to you to understand how your tool changer is supposed to work.but in code for linear tool changer Absolute position of tool holders , What will be the replacement for this, ?
I am using stepper motors with open loop, How to do define the tool holder locations in C program. ?
Regards,
Tom Kerekes
Dynomotion, Inc.
Tom Kerekes
Dynomotion, Inc.
-
- Posts: 134
- Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2018 7:35 am
- Location: India
Re: Rotary type automatic tool changer setup using Kflop+Kanalog+Konnect
hi TOM,
Thanks for the reply.
One doubt i have in tool changer program, for example in tool changer folder of KMOTION434/cprograms , has so many tool changing c programs.
I want to know which all programs are must for a successful linear tool change.
and which program should i run in kmotion thread2 (which has for loop) ?
and which program should i use in M6 T** command.
Waiting for your kind reply.
here is the program attached.
Thanks for the reply.
One doubt i have in tool changer program, for example in tool changer folder of KMOTION434/cprograms , has so many tool changing c programs.
I want to know which all programs are must for a successful linear tool change.
and which program should i run in kmotion thread2 (which has for loop) ?
and which program should i use in M6 T** command.
Waiting for your kind reply.
here is the program attached.
- Attachments
-
- Linear4ToolHolders Rev 2.c
- (10.26 KiB) Downloaded 123 times
-
- ToolM6TrigService.c
- (845 Bytes) Downloaded 116 times
-
- SetLastToolTo1.c
- (205 Bytes) Downloaded 117 times
-
- ServiceToolChangeTable.c
- (7.55 KiB) Downloaded 121 times
-
- ServiceToolChange.c
- (5.2 KiB) Downloaded 124 times
Thank You
AMIT KUMAR
AMIT KUMAR
- TomKerekes
- Posts: 2677
- Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 1:49 am
Re: Rotary type automatic tool changer setup using Kflop+Kanalog+Konnect
Hi Amit,
You should only need one program. I would think Linear4ToolHolders Rev 2.c would be the closest to what you need to do.I want to know which all programs are must for a successful linear tool change.
I don't understand. You shouldn't need a for loop.and which program should i run in kmotion thread2 (which has for loop) ?
The program you create to change the tool.and which program should i use in M6 T** command.
Regards,
Tom Kerekes
Dynomotion, Inc.
Tom Kerekes
Dynomotion, Inc.
-
- Posts: 134
- Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2018 7:35 am
- Location: India
Re: Rotary type automatic tool changer setup using Kflop+Kanalog+Konnect
Hi tom,
Thanks for your reply.
What is service tool change.c program in the Kmotion directory ?
and What it is used for?
and one more thing i wanna ask, How to change Linear4ToolHolders Rev 2.c program for a carousal type tool changer with 12 tools. ? What specific parameter i should change for making linear tool change to carousal type tool changer, considering all remaining parameters is same as linear, only tool positioning is rotary ?
Waiting for your kind reply.
Thanks for your reply.
What is service tool change.c program in the Kmotion directory ?
and What it is used for?
and one more thing i wanna ask, How to change Linear4ToolHolders Rev 2.c program for a carousal type tool changer with 12 tools. ? What specific parameter i should change for making linear tool change to carousal type tool changer, considering all remaining parameters is same as linear, only tool positioning is rotary ?
Waiting for your kind reply.
Thank You
AMIT KUMAR
AMIT KUMAR
- TomKerekes
- Posts: 2677
- Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 1:49 am
Re: Rotary type automatic tool changer setup using Kflop+Kanalog+Konnect
Hi Amit,
That is an example that uses a "state machine" approach. A function coded as a state machine keeps track of it's state so that it can always exit immediately, even though it is waiting for something, and then resume what it was doing next time it is called. A User created this program in this manner so that an additional Thread was not needed and a Tool Change could be performed without a connection to a PC. You should probably ignore this as it is more complicated than simply using a program that runs in another Thread and waits for things.What is service tool change.c program in the Kmotion directory ?
and What it is used for?
You will need to study the program, understand how it works, then understand how your machine works, and make the appropriate changes. It won't be a single parameter. You haven't described how your machine needs to work, but that program moves to different xy locations to load/unload different tools. I'm guessing your system will always move the the same position but then command the carousel to different positions to load/unload different tools.and one more thing i wanna ask, How to change Linear4ToolHolders Rev 2.c program for a carousal type tool changer with 12 tools. ? What specific parameter i should change for making linear tool change to carousal type tool changer, considering all remaining parameters is same as linear, only tool positioning is rotary ?
Regards,
Tom Kerekes
Dynomotion, Inc.
Tom Kerekes
Dynomotion, Inc.
-
- Posts: 134
- Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2018 7:35 am
- Location: India
Re: Rotary type automatic tool changer setup using Kflop+Kanalog+Konnect
Hi tom,
THanks for your reply.
To proceed with that what specific parameters should i change or any sample program that works?
and one more thing, how do i rotate carousal to the tool change location using tool changer program ?
Waiting for your kind reply.
THanks for your reply.
Yes you are right.I'm guessing your system will always move the the same position but then command the carousel to different positions to load/unload different tools.
To proceed with that what specific parameters should i change or any sample program that works?
and one more thing, how do i rotate carousal to the tool change location using tool changer program ?
Waiting for your kind reply.
Thank You
AMIT KUMAR
AMIT KUMAR
- TomKerekes
- Posts: 2677
- Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 1:49 am
Re: Rotary type automatic tool changer setup using Kflop+Kanalog+Konnect
Hi Amit,
You will need to try to do that yourself. Or otherwise contact our support for paid support to write a custom program for you. You would also need to describe your requirements.To proceed with that what specific parameters should i change or any sample program that works?
You would need to know how your carousel works and then command it. Do you know how your carousal works?how do i rotate carousal to the tool change location using tool changer program ?
Regards,
Tom Kerekes
Dynomotion, Inc.
Tom Kerekes
Dynomotion, Inc.