encoder test

Moderators: TomKerekes, dynomotion

Post Reply
drubed
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2024 9:31 pm

encoder test

Post by drubed » Fri Nov 08, 2024 11:52 pm

hello, I am just starting a project on a four axis machine using brush servo motors with single ended encoders. I have the Kfop and Kanalog boards I am planning on using the machines existing amplifiers and power supply, I was trying to just do a quick test for encoder input I attached channel A and B to the Kanalog J1 pin 1 & 3 and did not see anything from the encoder, read some threads on this forum and realize that I will not see single ended encoders connected in this manner and I need to connect directly to the Kflop but the thread said connect to J5 and according to the board layout shows this as the RJ45 connector.
I also am not sure how to setup the Kmotion to see the counts

User avatar
TomKerekes
Posts: 2677
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 1:49 am

Re: encoder test

Post by TomKerekes » Sat Nov 09, 2024 12:14 am

Yes KFLOP has single ended encoder inputs on JP7 and JP5. JP5 is an RJ45 connector. See here. These encoder inputs can be multiplexed over to JP4 and JP6 by executing this:

Code: Select all

	// Mux encoder inputs from KFLOP JP7 & JP5 to JP4 and JP6
	FPGAW(ENC_NOISE_FILTER_ADD) = ENC_0_3_JP4 + ENC_4_7_JP6 + ENC_NOISE_FILTER_DEFAULT_VAL; 
Last edited by TomKerekes on Mon Nov 11, 2024 12:10 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Typo
Regards,

Tom Kerekes
Dynomotion, Inc.

drubed
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2024 9:31 pm

Re: encoder test

Post by drubed » Sun Nov 10, 2024 11:49 pm

can I write it like this so all my encoder inputs go to JP4

// Mux encoder inputs from KFLOP JP7 & JP5 to JP4 and JP6
FPGAW(ENC_NOISE_FILTER_ADD) = ENC_0_7_JP4 + ENC_NOISE_FILTER_DEFAULT_VAL;

For test purpose can I use the VDD5 on pin 1 to power the encoder

User avatar
TomKerekes
Posts: 2677
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 1:49 am

Re: encoder test

Post by TomKerekes » Mon Nov 11, 2024 12:09 am

No the hardware only supports moving channels 0-3 to JP4. Besides 8 encoders would require 16 inputs as each encoder has an A and B signal. JP4 only has 10 I/O.
Regards,

Tom Kerekes
Dynomotion, Inc.

Post Reply