G32 sync spindle to Z axis lathe
Moderators: TomKerekes, dynomotion
Re: G32 sync spindle to Z axis lathe
i was just setting the Feed high so i could just rock the chuck back and forth by hand and get a long distance out of the Z
Re: G32 sync spindle to Z axis lathe
hmmmm, so i tried to cut some threads today and the Z axis was acting very lazy
i can tell the Z axis has a slow start and end. i think it might not even get up to the full cutting speed
sample of my code i was running....
i can tell the Z axis has a slow start and end. i think it might not even get up to the full cutting speed
sample of my code i was running....
Code: Select all
N158 G00X0.5 Z0.1
N163 G97 S800
g04p2
N164 X0.285 Z0.02 G95
N165 X0.235 Z0.02
N166 G01 X0.228 Z0.02 F0.0492
N167 G32 X0.228 Z-0.45
N168 G00 X0.285 Z-0.45 G95
N169 X0.285 Z0.02
N170 X0.235 Z0.02
N171 G01 X0.2252 Z0.02 F0.0492
N172 G32 X0.2252 Z-0.45
N173 G00 X0.285 Z-0.45 G95
N174 X0.285 Z0.02
N175 X0.235 Z0.02
N176 G01 X0.223 Z0.02 F0.0492
N177 G32 X0.223 Z-0.45
N178 G00 X0.285 Z-0.45 G95
N179 X0.285 Z0.02
N180 X0.235 Z0.02
N181 G01 X0.2211 Z0.02 F0.0492
N182 G32 X0.2211 Z-0.45
N183 G00 X0.285 Z-0.45 G95
N184 X0.285 Z0.02
N185 X0.235 Z0.02
N186 G01 X0.2194 Z0.02 F0.0492
N187 G32 X0.2194 Z-0.45
N188 G00 X0.285 Z-0.45 G95
N189 X0.285 Z0.02
N190 X0.235 Z0.02
N191 G01 X0.218 Z0.02 F0.0492
N192 G32 X0.218 Z-0.45
N193 G00 X0.285 Z-0.45 G95
N194 X0.285 Z0.02
N195 X0.235 Z0.02
N196 G01 X0.2166 Z0.02 F0.0492
N197 G32 X0.2166 Z-0.45
N198 G00 X0.285 Z-0.45 G95
N199 X0.285 Z0.02
N200 X0.235 Z0.02
N201 G01 X0.2153 Z0.02 F0.0492
N202 G32 X0.2153 Z-0.45
N203 G00 X0.285 Z-0.45 G95
N204 X0.285 Z0.02
N205 X0.235 Z0.02
N206 G01 X0.2141 Z0.02 F0.0492
N207 G32 X0.2141 Z-0.45
N208 G00 X0.285 Z-0.45 G95
N209 X0.285 Z0.02
N210 X0.235 Z0.02
N211 G01 X0.213 Z0.02 F0.0492
N212 G32 X0.213 Z-0.45
N213 G00 X0.285 Z-0.45 G95
N214 X0.285 Z0.02
N215 X0.235 Z0.02
N216 G01 X0.213 Z0.02 F0.0492
N217 G32 X0.213 Z-0.45
N218 G00 X0.285 Z-0.45 G95
N219 X0.285 Z0.02
N220 X0.235 Z0.02
N221 G01 X0.213 Z0.02 F0.0492
N222 G32 X0.213 Z-0.45
N223 G00 X0.285 Z-0.45 G95
N224 X0.285 Z0.02
N225 X0.235 Z0.02
N226 G01 X0.213 Z0.02 F0.0492
N227 G32 X0.213 Z-0.45
N228 G00 X0.285 Z-0.45 G95
N229 X0.285 Z0.02
N230 X0.3 Z0.0 M05
N233 M30
Re: G32 sync spindle to Z axis lathe
so i got the lathe working productively but it does some strange cut with the G32 mode
looks like the G32 does not start at the same spindle index.
my servo has a 18T pulley and the lathe spindle is 26T (belt drive)
i am assuming the encoder on the servo is the start index and this changes over time too
going off this info i would need an index signal right on the lathe spindle right?
a hall sensor would be easy enough to mount.
any recommendations on the software and input?
i can get a 26T pulley for the servo to make it 1:1 ratio but i fear for the max RPM it could run the spindle!
thanks
picture of the varying pitch
looks like the G32 does not start at the same spindle index.
my servo has a 18T pulley and the lathe spindle is 26T (belt drive)
i am assuming the encoder on the servo is the start index and this changes over time too
going off this info i would need an index signal right on the lathe spindle right?
a hall sensor would be easy enough to mount.
any recommendations on the software and input?
i can get a 26T pulley for the servo to make it 1:1 ratio but i fear for the max RPM it could run the spindle!
thanks
picture of the varying pitch
- TomKerekes
- Posts: 2676
- Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 1:49 am
Re: G32 sync spindle to Z axis lathe
Hi turbothis,
You should be able to get it to work without requiring a index signal.
It is unfortunate that 26/18 isn't a simple number but if you use enough digits (8) any round off error causing a drift should be negligible over a reasonable time. Maybe a few degrees of drift after spinning at 10000RPM for an hour.
What is the resolution of your spindle encoder? What exact value did you enter for the Threading Counts/rev?
You should be able to get it to work without requiring a index signal.
It is unfortunate that 26/18 isn't a simple number but if you use enough digits (8) any round off error causing a drift should be negligible over a reasonable time. Maybe a few degrees of drift after spinning at 10000RPM for an hour.
What is the resolution of your spindle encoder? What exact value did you enter for the Threading Counts/rev?
Regards,
Tom Kerekes
Dynomotion, Inc.
Tom Kerekes
Dynomotion, Inc.
Re: G32 sync spindle to Z axis lathe
can there be a code written to have the g32 start on every (EXAMPLE) 45th start on the servo. like when the spindle and servo teeth align again....
i got 8192 count servo
servo drives a larger pulley at 0.69 ratio
so 11872.46 counts per revolution
i got 8192 count servo
servo drives a larger pulley at 0.69 ratio
so 11872.46 counts per revolution
Last edited by turbothis on Mon Aug 12, 2019 4:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.
- TomKerekes
- Posts: 2676
- Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 1:49 am
Re: G32 sync spindle to Z axis lathe
Hi turbothis,
You should be more exact. Try: 11832.8889
You should be more exact. Try: 11832.8889
Regards,
Tom Kerekes
Dynomotion, Inc.
Tom Kerekes
Dynomotion, Inc.
Re: G32 sync spindle to Z axis lathe
hmmm i must have botched my numbers along the way
i will try that
thanks
i will try that
thanks
Re: G32 sync spindle to Z axis lathe
it still cuts the thread at different spindle starts.
- TomKerekes
- Posts: 2676
- Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 1:49 am
Re: G32 sync spindle to Z axis lathe
Hi turbothis,
Possibilities are the number is still incorrect or the encoder is simply not working properly.
You might do some sort of sanity experiments. Such as:
1 mark the Spindle angular position
2 record the KMotion.exe Axis Position
3 manually rotate the Spindle 100 revolutions and to the same angular position
4 verify the Position count changed by 1183289 counts +/- several counts depending on the accuracy of your mark.
Possibilities are the number is still incorrect or the encoder is simply not working properly.
You might do some sort of sanity experiments. Such as:
1 mark the Spindle angular position
2 record the KMotion.exe Axis Position
3 manually rotate the Spindle 100 revolutions and to the same angular position
4 verify the Position count changed by 1183289 counts +/- several counts depending on the accuracy of your mark.
Regards,
Tom Kerekes
Dynomotion, Inc.
Tom Kerekes
Dynomotion, Inc.
Re: G32 sync spindle to Z axis lathe
i get 1187246 (multiple times)
i run the spindle as the rotary axis for 3600 degrees (100 spins) and it shows about 6 degrees extra.
of course i cant count the 100 spins to make sure that happened though...
i run the A axis 36000 and back to 0 and it shows spot on the mark
i run the spindle as the rotary axis for 3600 degrees (100 spins) and it shows about 6 degrees extra.
of course i cant count the 100 spins to make sure that happened though...
i run the A axis 36000 and back to 0 and it shows spot on the mark